Residency Requirements

Divorce can be a trying process and there are some people who just want to the divorce to happen as quickly as possible. There may even be cases where the parties are in different states and still want the divorce to happen quickly. However, the reality is that there are residency requirements for a divorce in each state. This just means that parties must be a resident of the state they want to file in for a certain amount of time before the divorce can happen.

Filing for Divorce in Missouri, Illinois or Kansas

The required length of time for residency varies from state to state. Missouri and Illinois both have the same required length of time for resident requirements. If you want to get divorced in Missouri or Illinois, you must be a resident of the state for at least 90 days before you can proceed with the divorce process. In Kansas, the residency requirement is 60 days. When you file for divorce in either state, you must provide proof to the court that you have been a resident of the state for the required length of time.

If possible, you should try to file in your home state so that you won't have to hassle with the expense of traveling each time you have a court proceeding. This is also something to keep in mind if you think your spouse is going to file for divorce in another state. At the end of the day, it would be wise for both parties to file in their home state. This will make the process easier and maybe a little less painful.

Divorce Lawyers in the Midwest in Missouri, Illionois or Kansas

It is important for people thinking about going through a divorce to talk with an experienced and knowledgeable family law attorney in your state of residence to discuss all of your options.

The divorce attorneys at Stange Law Firm, PC can help answer any question you may have about residency requirements or the divorce process. We offer a consultation. You can contact us online or by calling any one of our convenient locations throughout the region.